Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Meltdown training tips (Read 28738 times)
EZ

Citizen

« on: June 11, 2014, 08:51:09 AM »

I signed up for the Meltdown and haven't raced since my BMX days way back when. Any tips to share regarding training and preparing for it? I've ridden Palos about once/month the last couple years but not at all this year. I understand race etiquette and excited to get more seriously into this.

Of course I can do last years route and be comfortable with the various parts of the singletrack. Anything else? I'm in decent shape and will ride a lot of "hills" all around to get in better cardiovascular shape since I've been lazy of the last couple months.

Thanks!
EZ
Paulski

=F

Semi-Pro

« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2014, 09:06:08 AM »

I'm new to racing as well but I've had good success with interval training.  It allows for a good workout in a shorter amount of time which works well with my work schedule.  Other than that, miles miles miles to build up that base.

The generation of random numbers is too important to be left to chance!
I pick bad lines

CAMBr Secretary

Pro

« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2014, 10:13:47 AM »

CAMBr is offering some MTB101 classes and one of the sessions will deal specifically with race training.

http://cambr.org/SMF/index.php?topic=28489.msg160172#msg160172

EZ

Citizen

« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2014, 11:19:18 AM »

Good tip on the interval training. I'll have to start that up again. This is a good motivator for me to just get in overall better cardiovascular health.

I saw the MTB classes. Good idea for the race one. It's hard for me to make it out there during the week though.
fat-tyr

CAMBr South Trail Director

lockport

Pro

« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2014, 10:48:26 PM »

I'll be driving a golf cart, any tips.

If you can't make the turns....take off the training wheels.
lml427
CAMBr Board Member
Special Projects Director #1

Semi-Pro

Type: Individual Basic

« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2014, 05:52:25 AM »